In the Namib desert (Sossusvlei, Namibia, 2008). © BRGM - Benjamin Le Bayon

New membership of the BRGM Scientific Committee

The membership of the BRGM's Scientific Committee was renewed on 25 January 2018.

The members of the new BRGM Scientific Committee were appointed on 25 January 2018 under a government decree issued in the Official Bulletin for Higher Education, Research and Innovation.

Anne Renault, the scientific director of Ifremer, will continue to chair the committee, which she has presided since 2014. The other 14 members of the BRGM Scientific Committee are:

  • Zoubeida Kebaïli Bargaoui, Professor, National School of Engineering, Tunis, Tunisia
  • Jean-Yves Bottero, Emeritus Research Director, CNRS, CEREGE, Marseille, France
  • Bertrand Braunschweig, Director, INRIA, Saclay-lle-de-France, France
  • Jordi Bruno, Director, Amphos 21 Consulting, Spain
  • Nicolas Flipo, Senior Research Fellow with the Geosciences Centre, director of the hydrology/hydrogeology team at  Mines ParisTech (formerly École des Mines de Paris), France
  • Lluis Fontboté, Professor, Geneva University, Switzerland
  • Laurent Jammes, Consultant, Actys / Enea Consulting, France
  • Laurent Jolivet, Professor, UMPC - Sorbonne University, France
  • Corinne Leyval, Research Director, CNRS, University of Lorraine, interdisciplinary laboratory on continental environments (LIEC), France
  • Céline Lutoff, Professor, University of Grenoble-Alpes), France
  • Frédéric Plas, Scientific Director, ANDRA, France
  • Cécile Robin, Professor, University of Rennes, France
  • Anne Rozan, Professor, ENGEES and University of Strasbourg, France
  • Philippe Stohr, Vice-President, Fortum, France

A consultative committee appointed for 3 years

The BRGM Scientific Committee is a consultative body with responsibility for issuing advice on the BRGM's scientific and technical activities.  It comprises twelve to eighteen key figures from France and elsewhere, selected for their scientific and technical competences and appointed for three years, with a renewable mandate, by decree issued by the Minister for Research.

The Scientific Committee is responsible for:

  • issuing advice on the BRGM's scientific programming, particularly in the light of research needs expressed by the committee for public service programming,
  • discussing medium-term scientific and technical perspectives in the BRGM's areas of competence,
  • evaluating results obtained under research and development projects,
  • examining the BRGM's policy for scientific and technical partnerships.


Read the decree establishing the BRGM Scientific Committee, on Légifrance

More information about BRGM governance

BRGM - 3 avenue Claude-Guillemin - BP 36009 45060 Orléans Cedex 2 - France Tel.: +33 (0)2 38 64 34 34